Posted: May 8, 2006 in Uncategorized

With my departure for Tokyo looming imminent, it’s natural that I would take my last weekend home to relax a bit and get things in order. So what did I do? I went to Portland with Lucy and toured the Japanese gardens and ate sushi.

Yes really.

In all fairness, the rest of the weekend was thoroughly northwest-oriented. Friday night a group of us crammed 7 people in my car and drove up to Cougar hotsprings to soak until 4 in the morning. Having only been there once before, and most of my attention at the time was focused on the naked, attractive girl I’d come up with who I’d known all of 24 hours, I was able to get a better feel for the place this time. It’s very well designed and kept up, and sitting in a stream of hot water pouring out of the ground while watching the stars through the treetops is a great way to relax, even if you are surrounded by naked hippies.

In addition to the Tokyo warmup on Saturday, we kidnapped aardammit and saw Night Watch at the Laurelhurst (good beer, bad movie), went to a little dive bar under the 405, and ended up at a seedy strip bar in Chinatown full of some of George’s fellow ruggers who were later thrown out for breaking a chair. There’s a reason behind that last destination, but it’s nowhere near as interesting as the result.

After a Sunday morning quasi-hangover breakfast at the local Cup and Saucer, George took us around to admire his little farm startup in his backyard, which consists of a rather gaudy purple and white chicken coop and its new occupants. While the chickens were amusing as only chickens can be, the show was stolen by Cammy, the runt of the group with a misshapen lower beak that drove me to nickname her “Caddyshack”, since her skewn jaw constantly reminds me of Bill Murray’s demented groundskeeper.

The rest of the day was wandering in the rain through the Saturday market booths and hiding from the rain to peruse the game shop and see Thank You For Smoking. Regardless of whether you are pro- or anti-smoking, I cannot recommend Thank You For Smoking enough. It’s so rare to come across a movie that’s truly cleverly written from start to finish, and this one does it in spades.

Today will be almost entirely devoted to getting my shit together in preparation for shuffling through customs, sitting wedged in a seat designed for anorexic dwarfs for 11 hours, and emerging blearily into a city where I can’t speak the language and don’t know where I’m going.

I’m tremendously excited.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    youll be ok, tokyo is pretty user friendly and anytime you look lost, a local will ask you pretty quickly if they can help (and get a picture with you)..

  2. Anonymous says:

    youll be ok, tokyo is pretty user friendly and anytime you look lost, a local will ask you pretty quickly if they can help (and get a picture with you)..

  3. muffster says:

    HAVE A GREAT TRIP. I will miss you especialy on thursday :p

  4. Anonymous says:

    HAVE A GREAT TRIP. I will miss you especialy on thursday :p

Leave a Reply

