I think I’m turning Japanese, I really think so

Posted: April 21, 2006 in Uncategorized

Day before yesterday the GF bought me a copy of Dave Barry Does Japan, saying her friends who have lived in Japan call it a dead accurate description of the culture, and that he is indeed not making any of this up. I’m inclined to believe it, if only because it will make the trip that much funnier.


Yesterday officially marked in spring for me. The blooming flowers are nice and all, but given warm snaps in the valley confuse the hell out of the plants on a regular basis, that can’t count. And forget the first day of mowing the lawn; Oregonians will literally mow their lawn in the dead of winter during pouring rain, raincoat and all. Rain here isn’t inclement weather, it’s extremely high humidity.

No, my spring began with commuting to work on my motorcycle, then climbing at the columns after work. Both felt fantastic. My trad climbing has suffered a bit over the winter, but I expect that will clear up in short order. Especially since marker number two is coming this weekend, ie. my first climbing weekend at Smith of the season. Hefting my gear pack onto my shoulder yesterday felt so freakin good. Pity it still smells like a skunk.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    dude! you are going to smith this weekend?!
    ive been trying to find people to go with all week…
    i must of just missed you yesterday at the columns, I was there till about 4 ish.,.
    next time youre there call, id love to climb.

  2. Anonymous says:

    dude! you are going to smith this weekend?!

    ive been trying to find people to go with all week…

    i must of just missed you yesterday at the columns, I was there till about 4 ish.,.

    next time youre there call, id love to climb.

  3. tokori says:

    ps.. i still have some japanese stuff for you, a few good books and places you gotta go while youre there.. !

  4. Anonymous says:

    ps.. i still have some japanese stuff for you, a few good books and places you gotta go while youre there.. !

  5. muffster says:

    Climbing was good. I lookforword to working on some leading with you. It will be awsome to try and remeber how to place gear. spring is defninatly HERE 😀

  6. Anonymous says:

    Climbing was good. I lookforword to working on some leading with you. It will be awsome to try and remeber how to place gear. spring is defninatly HERE 😀

Leave a Reply

