“You have been hit for -4 hours of your life”

Posted: April 7, 2006 in Uncategorized

Back during my awkward teenage years, living the odd mixture of a computer nerd in the tropics, I discovered the computer, the internet, and then, RPGs and MUDs. While they all sucked away hours of time, nothing quite enveloped me as completely as RPGs. At its worst, I spent a 12-hour stretch camped out on the couch, tying up the phone line, role playing, in text only mind you, the aftermath of a major earthquake.

And one wonders why I had no real friends as a teen.

These days, my gaming tends to be limited to FPS (first-person shooters), and I’ve avoided games like World of Warcraft the way a small child paces a wary distance around the stove after learning his lesson the hard way. However, I’ve recently been hooked on Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion by my girlfriend, and I’m reminded of how these things suck you in with the promise of more and cooler stuff. But since it’s single-player only, I can stop at any point and walk away. I can quit anytime I want.

Right after I clear out this anteroom and loot the necromancer for his soulgems…

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    doom 3. halo 2.
    that is all.

    • Reuben says:

      Thing of it is, I also just got Halo 2 when I picked up an XBox. But I hit a tough boss in that one, which doesn’t help other addictions. Although I have found multiplayer Halo to rock most seriously.

  2. Anonymous says:

    doom 3. halo 2.

    that is all.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thing of it is, I also just got Halo 2 when I picked up an XBox. But I hit a tough boss in that one, which doesn’t help other addictions. Although I have found multiplayer Halo to rock most seriously.

  3. lucyrachel says:

    Huh. It’s really out of the blue for me to be commenting, but hi. You went to Thacher (for one year?) and have a thing for Scotland. Cool. (I went to Thacher for four years and am now in college, and spent last semester studying abroad in Glasgow.)
    Uh, that’s about all. Done with my Saturday evening stalking for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    Huh. It’s really out of the blue for me to be commenting, but hi. You went to Thacher (for one year?) and have a thing for Scotland. Cool. (I went to Thacher for four years and am now in college, and spent last semester studying abroad in Glasgow.)

    Uh, that’s about all. Done with my Saturday evening stalking for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

