Cold As Ice (or Fill Your Eyes With That 3-Day Weekend)

Posted: February 19, 2006 in Uncategorized

As I sat in Snafu by myself on Friday night, feeling the rush of four rum and cokes wash over me like a haze as a gay man offered to pick up chicks for me, I realized I needed to get out of town. I began to formulate a plan.

After some necessary sleeping in to account for the night before, I hit the Asian Festival at the fairgrounds for lunch. This was no whim, however; this was all part of The Plan. I was on a mission. You see, in Eugene, I have only ever found one source for Spam musubi, and that is a regular booth at the Eugene Asian Festival, unremarkable among the many food booths except for the pile of Spam musubi on one corner of the table. I bought three, which is extremely restrained for me. The fact that I only ate two on the spot is a nearly Herculean feat. Objective number two was to aquire a rather unique form I’d seen last year for making sushi and, yes, my own musubi. I was victorious. Time to get out of town.

The Plan as it was went something like this: drive over to Smith Rock, hike up Misery Ridge, eat at Soba Noodle in Bend, sleep at the grasslands, then get up, eat at the Sunspot, and go snowboarding at Hoodoo on the way home.

And that’s exactly what happened.

The only snag in The Plan was the weather. Not that it was bad weather, mind you. It was just bone-chillingly cold. Temperatures during the day topped out around 25, and Saturday night was the coldest I had ever slept outside at -2 F. But really, thanks to these conditions I had Misery Ridge all to myself as I watched the sun set on the Cascades, and had an absolutely killer day at Hoodoo. And because I just happened to see some friends on the slopes, I even got some video of my runs (kinda large files):

Video 1 (16.4M)
Video 2 (9.5M)

The only problem with this weekend: what do I do with the extra day?

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    dude, that sounds like the perfect weekend.

  2. Anonymous says:

    dude, that sounds like the perfect weekend.

  3. annaanna says:

    OMG – i totally didn’t realize that the asian festival was this weekend. I totally could have gone for some teriyaki and some noodles and some more noodles and … mmm noodles.
    fun for you!

  4. Anonymous says:

    OMG – i totally didn’t realize that the asian festival was this weekend. I totally could have gone for some teriyaki and some noodles and some more noodles and … mmm noodles.

    fun for you!

Leave a Reply

