Back on the hamster wheel

Posted: January 9, 2006 in Uncategorized

Coming back from Hawaii in the winter is always a jolt, especially if you cram in a last ditch trip to the beach as I did, an attempt to soak in as much solar radiation as possible before saying goodbye to it for another 4 months. Taking the red-eye across the Pacific, the sun sets on tropical waters only to rise again on winter-deadened landscape, accompanied by a cold wind that feels like someone threw a bucket of water at you the moment you stepped onto the gangway. Tack on with this the mental feat of trying to re-engage your brain into day-to-day work mode, grinding like a sticky clutch, and it all leaves me sitting vacantly at my desk, my mind still not quite open for business yet.

On the upshot, my passport arrived while I was gone, so I now have the legal ability to flee the country whenever I want. Assuming they don’t outlaw acknowledging the existance of other countries in the name of national security.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    Your parents house is exactly as I pictured it. It looks so cozy!
    (PS did you bring your board back with you?)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Your parents house is exactly as I pictured it. It looks so cozy!

    (PS did you bring your board back with you?)

    • Anonymous says:

      No, the board stayed back at home. I’m still not convinced I can bring myself to go surfing off the Oregon coast though… So freakin cold!

  3. muffster says:

    last year when i got back everything was covvered in snow. it was like landing on a different planet.
    and i couldn’t find the car in the parking lot ;))

  4. Anonymous says:

    last year when i got back everything was covvered in snow. it was like landing on a different planet.

    and i couldn’t find the car in the parking lot ;))

    • Anonymous says:

      I actually had to think pretty hard to find my car too. I was still so spacy from the massive change in scenery.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Welcome back!

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks! With the passport, I can now travel to Canada without worrying about being turned away at the border!

  6. vanz says:

    As an odd bit of synchronicity, I watched “Carlito’s Way” for the first time this weekend (ok… so sue me. I didn’t watch “Dog Day Afternoon” until last year either… so I’m a little behind, ok?).
    Anyway, that picture reminds me of the ‘Paradise’ image at the end of the movie. Except the sun is not as large and isn’t floating around like it’s been matted on another image.
    Looks nice. Welcome back to purgatory. 😉
    /end_random_thought

    • Reuben says:

      Heh, if it makes you feel any better, I STILL haven’t seen Carlito’s Way.
      And thanks for the welcome back. Nothing says home like hydroplaning from work on I-5.

  7. Anonymous says:

    As an odd bit of synchronicity, I watched “Carlito’s Way” for the first time this weekend (ok… so sue me. I didn’t watch “Dog Day Afternoon” until last year either… so I’m a little behind, ok?).

    Anyway, that picture reminds me of the ‘Paradise’ image at the end of the movie. Except the sun is not as large and isn’t floating around like it’s been matted on another image.

    Looks nice. Welcome back to purgatory. 😉

    /end_random_thought

    • Anonymous says:

      Heh, if it makes you feel any better, I STILL haven’t seen Carlito’s Way.

      And thanks for the welcome back. Nothing says home like hydroplaning from work on I-5.

Leave a Reply

