2005 has left the building

Posted: January 1, 2006 in Uncategorized

A half-full bottle of Puerto Rican rum in hand, I rang out the old year and in the new last night in standard Hawaiian fashion: 1 band, 1 open-air venue, 0 shoes. While the band played Mustang Sally, the small-town crowd cut a rug, and a handful of drunken haoles with blow torches tried their best to die in a massive fireball fit for Norse legend, it occured to me that 2005 had indeed been good to me.

My climbing career alone saw so many milestones; my first trad and multi-pitch leads, climbing Monkey Face, climbing outside of Oregon for the first time on new and unfamiliar rock. Two major road trips. 10 national parks. Hiking some of the most amazing terrain I’ve ever seen. New and rekindled friendships and relationships. And everything and everyone of consequence still very much part of my life. In the words of Joe Walsh, “life’s been good to me so far.” As I thought about it, the more reluctant I was to see the year go.

But at the same time, there is plenty to be had in the new year. As I sit here, my new passport should be waiting for me back in my mailbox at work. That alone opens huge possibilities. Framework plans are in place for a road trip to the southwestern US, including Yosemite, Red Rocks, and the geological improbability that is southern Utah. There is much to be had this next year. There has to be, really, if it’s going to give 2005 a run for its money.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    happy new year ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    happy new year ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

