Simply Travelling (or Why I never check luggage if I can help it)

Posted: December 30, 2005 in Uncategorized


The more I travel, the less the travel itself feels like an event and more a matter of fact. Certain aspects take on an almost unconcious pattern; my wardrobe (zero metal for airline travel, plenty of pockets), my mental timeline (when to leave, what I have time for between legs), and my packing.

I’ve been fortunate enough to never permanently lose anything into that hole in space-time that is baggage handling, which seems to have the ability to make your luggage travel in more improbable ways than the JFK magic bullet. However, with the combination of near-misses, horror stories, and basic highschool math (if your first flight arrives at the airport at 4:45PM, and your next flight leaves the terminal at 5:00PM travelling at 350 MPH, how many customs dogs will root through your bags before it’s sent to St. Louis?), I find carrying everything with me gives me a tremendous peace of mind.

Really, I rarely travel anywhere that I can’t do this. As long as I’m travelling somewhere I won’t need to supply my own sleeping accomodations, I can get by with two smallish bags at most. In the event I need more, the basics never leave my hands. I’ll be damned if the success of my trip will ride in the hands of someone who has the completely legal freedom to use my underwear as cleaning rags.

The fact that I’m just about to start travelling internationally means I’ll likely have to adjust my planning some, but ultimately, this is a ground rule for me; flexible, but essential. And it is with this rule firmly in mind that I leave in 4 hours, one bag in hand for a over a week away from home.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    LOL
    your math cracks me up ๐Ÿ™‚ I would hate to see what the baggage people would do with my unmentionables ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    thank you for the early morning suprise. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Anonymous says:

    LOL

    your math cracks me up ๐Ÿ™‚ I would hate to see what the baggage people would do with my unmentionables ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    thank you for the early morning suprise. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. zevhonith says:

    The nice thing, that I try to take advantage of, is that if your bag is too big to be stowed, they’ll check it at the gate for you, and give it to you immediately upon arrival. Unless I’m going somewhere for more than 5 days, that’s what I do. Then I don’t even have to worry about carrying anything on to the plane, but I also avoid baggage claim, and always know where my bag is. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    The nice thing, that I try to take advantage of, is that if your bag is too big to be stowed, they’ll check it at the gate for you, and give it to you immediately upon arrival. Unless I’m going somewhere for more than 5 days, that’s what I do. Then I don’t even have to worry about carrying anything on to the plane, but I also avoid baggage claim, and always know where my bag is. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. somechick says:

    (when to leave, what I have time for between legs)
    I keep reading this line and chuckling… it’s early.
    Bon Voyage!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    (when to leave, what I have time for between legs)

    I keep reading this line and chuckling… it’s early.

    Bon Voyage!!

  7. tokori says:

    no no no.
    the biggest mistake you can make traveling internationally is to check bags.
    I can travel for 1-2 months with one (carry-on) backpack, most veterin travelers I know can do it with just as much for even longer. the key is to do laundry and travel light, and in SE Asia buy what you need when you get there if you didnt bring it– (ESPECIALLY if you are moving around often, you’ll thank me)

  8. Anonymous says:

    no no no.

    the biggest mistake you can make traveling internationally is to check bags.

    I can travel for 1-2 months with one (carry-on) backpack, most veterin travelers I know can do it with just as much for even longer. the key is to do laundry and travel light, and in SE Asia buy what you need when you get there if you didnt bring it– (ESPECIALLY if you are moving around often, you’ll thank me)

Leave a Reply

