It’s a matter of instinct, a matter of conditioning, and a matter of fact

Posted: December 17, 2005 in Uncategorized

As far as gender relations go, the more corners I turn, the more I find myself back on the same street. I simply can’t find a good reason to put the effort into flirting, chasing, and generally pursuing women. These days even glaring sexuality barely turns my head. Perhaps I’ve been spoiled, or I I’ve just set my limits too high, or both, but there are just so many other things I’d rather put my energy into, and which have a better return. I have plenty of good, real friends as it is, and anything more seems… unnecessary. The games, the personality conflicts, trading personal time for “us time”…. I just don’t seem wired for it.

Perhaps there’s such a thing as being too happy for a relationship.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    my .02
    I actually think it has to do more with finding the right women who naturally grabs your attention; someone you find yourself naturally wanting to pursue [in a way that feels effortless]. if you feel like have to put effort into chasing a women, imo, you havent found the right one yet.

    • Reuben says:

      Re: my .02
      Thing is, I don’t want to pursue, effortless or not. I’m not looking for someone to put on a pedestal or devote my time to, or them me. And I really rather like not being a “we”.

      • tokori says:

        my .04
        I dont think anyone wants to put on a pedestal, i think the right relationship is about things being well devided: finances, time (together or alone), energy into x,y and z, etc etc etc
        anytime you loose I and become we, its become unhealthy at some level. I believe its so important to keep your own idenitiy intact and know your core vaules [what you absolutely need in your life regardless of others].
        for you, your vaules might be having more you time then together time, and the right chica well be the same way…

  2. Anonymous says:

    my .02

    I actually think it has to do more with finding the right women who naturally grabs your attention; someone you find yourself naturally wanting to pursue [in a way that feels effortless]. if you feel like have to put effort into chasing a women, imo, you havent found the right one yet.

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: my .02

      Thing is, I don’t want to pursue, effortless or not. I’m not looking for someone to put on a pedestal or devote my time to, or them me. And I really rather like not being a “we”.

      • Anonymous says:

        my .04

        I dont think anyone wants to put on a pedestal, i think the right relationship is about things being well devided: finances, time (together or alone), energy into x,y and z, etc etc etc

        anytime you loose I and become we, its become unhealthy at some level. I believe its so important to keep your own idenitiy intact and know your core vaules [what you absolutely need in your life regardless of others].

        for you, your vaules might be having more you time then together time, and the right chica well be the same way…

  3. chloralone says:

    Yeah my post-breakup blues were pretty… brief. Now, I just don’t want to devote any time to ANYONE. Hell I even met a potential hookup last night and came up with some lame excuse so I could go home and play Battlefield 2.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Well sure, that sniper combat badge isn’t going to earn itself!

Leave a Reply

