C’mon, get down with the sickness

Posted: December 7, 2005 in Uncategorized

Bleh, home sick with a cold yesterday and today. I really hate the whole cold thing, it’s such a waste of time. Ah well, it makes me sit still for a while so I can catch up here.

For being as physically inactive as I was over the weekend, it was a good one. Got shut out for climbing twice due to a bouldering competition at the Crux, which Shel and I went to watch but left after all of 10 minutes. While I’d always felt “competitive climbing” was something of an oxymoron, I really realized that while climbing is fun, just watching climbing is really no fun at all. But I’d be damned if I was going to shell out $35 on top of my gym membership just to climb in the gym when it was 3X as crowded.

We did however hike up Spencer’s Butte in the first snow to stick in town. I’d never actully been at the summit with snow on the ground, and for those of us who dwell in area where snow is a rarity, it was a significant reminder of how much a little snowfall can completely change a normally familiar landscape.

The rest of the weekend was mostly lazing around the house playing God of War, closing out Indigo and making a scene at IHOP around 3AM on Friday, and dinner at The Melting Pot in PDX on Sunday. I must say, while the cheese and chocolate fondues were outstanding evidence that the Swiss really have all the cheese angles covered, the meat fondue really wasn’t my thing. Nothing puts a damper on a nice dinner out like having to watch the clock during your meal to avoid salmonella.

Now, I think it’s about time I made some more tea. Because I’ll be damned if I’m gonna be sick this weekend and not go snowboarding.

Comments
  1. tokori says:

    hopefully youll be better by the weekend, the snow was sooooo schweet.

  2. Anonymous says:

    hopefully youll be better by the weekend, the snow was sooooo schweet.

  3. muffster says:

    it realy was a great weekend ❤

  4. Anonymous says:

    it realy was a great weekend ❤

Leave a Reply

