Posted: October 29, 2005 in Uncategorized

I’ve been rather lax in my updating lately. I’d like to think that it’s because I’ve been too busy doing new and exciting things, but there’s definitely a factor of laziness in there as well.

There’s a movie called Dark city where people are given new pasts and new lives every night at midnight. A poor man may become a rich man, a family man may become a bachelor, but only a rare person becomes aware this is happening. This past week I’ve felt like one of those few people. Since my last weekend at Smith, I’ve been taking care of a family friends’ house and dog outside Olympia, WA, right on the sound. I’ve been sleeping in their bed, eating out of their fridge, making their coffee, using their row boat… I have in essence taken over their lives short of working at their jobs. I haven’t been home since last Friday night, and Eugene is a bit fuzzy around the edges. It’s probably just as well that I’m headed home tomorrow, or I might start re-arranging the furniture.

But even still, it’s just not me. I’m ready to get back to the things and places I know. I love the location of this place, and I could get into life on Puget Sound, but the significant number of bars and liquor stores here is definitely telling.

I’m also ready to get back to the freedom of non-dog ownership. Every now and again I’m reminded of why I’m not a dog owner. Hell, I don’t even like to have houseplants. The ability to walk out my door at any moment and go anywhere for any length of time, be it to the grocery store or on a plane to Hawaii, is a feeling I really can’t give up. I can be anyone, anywhere, at any time I want.

Who shall I be next week?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    it is so beautiful there. I think my favorite part was the row boat πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous says:

    it is so beautiful there. I think my favorite part was the row boat πŸ™‚

  3. tokori says:

    The ability to walk out my door at any moment and go anywhere for any length of time, be it to the grocery store or on a plane to Hawaii, is a feeling I really can’t give up. I can be anyone, anywhere, at any time I want.

    you sound like me.

  4. Anonymous says:

    The ability to walk out my door at any moment and go anywhere for any length of time, be it to the grocery store or on a plane to Hawaii, is a feeling I really can’t give up. I can be anyone, anywhere, at any time I want.

    you sound like me.

Leave a Reply

