You’re a handsome devil. What’s your name?

Posted: October 14, 2005 in Uncategorized

I’ve seen quite a few John Cusack movies. I’ve liked virtually all of them, from the John Hughes days of Sixteen Candles to Runaway Jury. In my book, the man is the God of cinema.

The past week I’ve rewatched two of my particular favorites, Grosse Pointe Blank and High Fidelity. I’ve seen each of these movies more times than I can remember, but suddenly, this week, I find myself not just enjoying them, but identifying with them.

Perhaps identify is too strong a word. I’m not taking that emotional crash course. But the subtext hits closer to home than it ever has. I skipped the whole Brat Pack, child of the 80s highschool thing, so I never tuned into that those films, but now that I’m catching up with the 30-something set, I’m beginning to recognize myself.

So, in honor of last night’s trip to self-awareness:

Top five Cusack films by autobiographical chronology
5) The Journey of Natty Gann – My first film exposure to Cusack, and my first memorable film crush, directed at Meredith Salenger.
4) Stand By Me – Not so much a Cusack movie, but having been shot in Oregon, it really personified many of my childhood summers.
3) Grosse Pointe Blank – Released just after I moved away from home, it was absorbed by everything else I was dealing with, but made that mark nonetheless.
2) Better Off Dead – Introduced to me by a co-worker who also opened to me the doors of David Lee Roth, Tim Burton, and Oingo Boingo. It also established my love of black ’68 Camaros.
1) High Fidelity – Musically and emotionally, this movie really just hits so many spots of where I’ve been in recent years.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    NICE šŸ˜€ that was a perfect tribute. perhaps i will post mine šŸ˜‰

    • muffster says:

      5. Stand by Me- filmed in my home town. this movie spoke to me and my 4 best friends in middle school. we not only watched the movie we obsessed over the movie. it was a comming of age film for us.
      4. Sixteen Candels- I don’t feel like i shouled even have to explain this. I didn’t see this one in the theater. but i have seen it so many times. I so identify with this film, with being forgotten, left out, wanted only by geeks, trying to help someone and made an ass of…. the only thing that didn’t pretty much happen in my realy life was the happy ending with the cute boy i *realy* wanted to be with šŸ˜‰
      3. Better Off Dead- ah yes obsession. I obsessed over a boy in high school. Suicidal even. it was so not just heart breaking but life shattering. lesson learnd is that just becasue you think you love someone doesn’t mean you do, and that when the time comes you will meet a new person.
      2. Grosse Point Blank- agian this happend to me. I tried to go home. it didn’t work. i have been to my 10 year reunion and it was so sad. no one got murderd though.
      1. High Fedelity- this is where i am at in life and why my ex and i could not stay married. he never commited and he couldn’t get on with having a future. This movie has hit home for me every time i have seen it. i see me and my friends in the movie. this is the age where we go from existing to living with intent. again another comming of age movie.

  2. Anonymous says:

    NICE šŸ˜€ that was a perfect tribute. perhaps i will post mine šŸ˜‰

    • Anonymous says:

      5. Stand by Me- filmed in my home town. this movie spoke to me and my 4 best friends in middle school. we not only watched the movie we obsessed over the movie. it was a comming of age film for us.

      4. Sixteen Candels- I don’t feel like i shouled even have to explain this. I didn’t see this one in the theater. but i have seen it so many times. I so identify with this film, with being forgotten, left out, wanted only by geeks, trying to help someone and made an ass of…. the only thing that didn’t pretty much happen in my realy life was the happy ending with the cute boy i *realy* wanted to be with šŸ˜‰

      3. Better Off Dead- ah yes obsession. I obsessed over a boy in high school. Suicidal even. it was so not just heart breaking but life shattering. lesson learnd is that just becasue you think you love someone doesn’t mean you do, and that when the time comes you will meet a new person.

      2. Grosse Point Blank- agian this happend to me. I tried to go home. it didn’t work. i have been to my 10 year reunion and it was so sad. no one got murderd though.

      1. High Fedelity- this is where i am at in life and why my ex and i could not stay married. he never commited and he couldn’t get on with having a future. This movie has hit home for me every time i have seen it. i see me and my friends in the movie. this is the age where we go from existing to living with intent. again another comming of age movie.

  3. rhinoblues says:

    high fidelity has been my theme movie since i saw it the first time

  4. Anonymous says:

    high fidelity has been my theme movie since i saw it the first time

  5. vanz says:

    Have you seen “Map Of The Human Heart”? I think he (Cusack) appeared in that movie as a favor as he’s only in it for maybe 20 minutes, but I really like that one.
    It’s not for everybody, but I really enjoyed it.
    BTW.. ’68 Cameros still have a special place in my heart due to “Better Off Dead” …and I’m not too ashamed to admit that “I’ve Been Arrested By You” by Rupert Hine is on my iPod šŸ˜‰

  6. Anonymous says:

    Have you seen “Map Of The Human Heart”? I think he (Cusack) appeared in that movie as a favor as he’s only in it for maybe 20 minutes, but I really like that one.

    It’s not for everybody, but I really enjoyed it.

    BTW.. ’68 Cameros still have a special place in my heart due to “Better Off Dead” …and I’m not too ashamed to admit that “I’ve Been Arrested By You” by Rupert Hine is on my iPod šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

