Posted: September 15, 2005 in Uncategorized

Having gone to bed at about 6:30 this morning after spending the night with muffster in the ER and coming into work at noon, my work day has become more of a formality than anything.

So, in lieu of work, here’s a little introspection I’ve been mulling over lately. As a kid, I was paralyzed by indecision. Even with the simplest and most meaningless of choices, I was unable to simply choose and trust that it would work out well. Things as simple as what t-shirt to wear were lengthy decisions. I struggled with this for years, and lost out on a number of opportunities because of it. I simply could not make decisions when there was no obvious choice. I had, for no understandable reason, instilled in myself a goal of perfection that was simply impossible, and it was damaging.

Over the years, I’ve managed to combat and overcome this fairly successfully. My ability to accept chance and uncertainty has made my life much more positive and fluid. However, this trait hasn’t been eradicated, and still comes back to haunt me, sometimes without me even realizing it.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    choose or the choice will me made for you. it is not a matter of right or wrong… it is a matter of right or left. perfection is unatainable and though i do believe one should strive for better allthe time, it is whith the idea of learning better all the time. so strive for the best you can do but accept that there is no perfection in you or anyone else. you just havet to pick a path and walk it.

  2. Anonymous says:

    choose or the choice will me made for you. it is not a matter of right or wrong… it is a matter of right or left. perfection is unatainable and though i do believe one should strive for better allthe time, it is whith the idea of learning better all the time. so strive for the best you can do but accept that there is no perfection in you or anyone else. you just havet to pick a path and walk it.

Leave a Reply

