Posted: September 6, 2005 in Uncategorized

Finally seem to be kicking this cold. What a pain in the ass. I thought last night I’d relapsed after hiking Pisgah, but I think it was just a combination of a little too much too early, not enough food, and not enough water. But I’m no longer spitting green gunk.

Meantime, the whole dating scene makes me shake my head. So often it does nothing for my loss of respect for women, and even worsens it (for all the feminists out there outraged by this statement, I already knew guys were lame; the women are just catching up now). So many people out there are thoroughly uninteresting or incapable of carrying on a conversation. And then there’s the game. The elaborate timing and wording, wanting to be pursued and treated like a princess thing. Annoys the hell outta me. But I’m sticking firm with the belief that there are exceptions. They’re just hard to find.

On the positive side, this summer has really helped change my stance on relationships of any kind. I’m feeling much more whole and self-fulfilled these days. After my two big road trips, I feel not just self-sufficient physically, but also emotionally. I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything without someone else involved. I enjoy sharing my experiences with someone else, but it’s not necessary, and I don’t need anyone else to initiate something for me to be happy.

I’m headed where I want to go. But if you want to ride along, you need to split the gas and offer to drive.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    🙂 Offer to drive… not expect to actualy drive 😉
    good observations all.

  2. Anonymous says:

    🙂 Offer to drive… not expect to actualy drive 😉

    good observations all.

  3. annaanna says:

    not everyone is holding out and waiting to be pursued and treated like a princess. that’s just a bonus really 😉
    While i admit that guys can be dorks, women can be downright evil, and it’s those few that ruin it for us low-to-medium maintenance folks that just want a normal, non drama oriented relationship. i mean really? is that too much to ask? while neo’s never forgotten my birthday (“it’s sometime in june, right?”), i’ve never gotten even a valentine’s card from him. even while we were dating. that’s how it should be. i don’t want the traditional relationship – those seem so played out, and you never know if they’re doing something for you because it’s expected, or because they want to.
    hrm .. guess i should be posting this rant in my own journal. but you’re is just so much more fun!

  4. Anonymous says:

    not everyone is holding out and waiting to be pursued and treated like a princess. that’s just a bonus really 😉

    While i admit that guys can be dorks, women can be downright evil, and it’s those few that ruin it for us low-to-medium maintenance folks that just want a normal, non drama oriented relationship. i mean really? is that too much to ask? while neo’s never forgotten my birthday (“it’s sometime in june, right?”), i’ve never gotten even a valentine’s card from him. even while we were dating. that’s how it should be. i don’t want the traditional relationship – those seem so played out, and you never know if they’re doing something for you because it’s expected, or because they want to.

    hrm .. guess i should be posting this rant in my own journal. but you’re is just so much more fun!

  5. Started reading this and had this sense of deja vu. Didn’t you already write about this? The whole “shittiness, thy name is woman” theme?
    Oh well. The key thing I wanted to zero in on was when you wrote, “So many people out there are thoroughly uninteresting or incapable of carrying on a conversation.”
    Yeah, I’ve noticed that, too. It’s like, you’ll ask someone a generic, get-to-know-you question like, “What kind of music do you like?” (and that’s when you know you’re grabbing at straws ’cause that’s a pretty lame question) and the standard response will be, “All kinds”, followed by silence.
    Sometimes, I think they should offer really useful classes in high school — something like, “The Art of Conversation” so that people will finally learn how to talk to others properly.
    As for women wanting to be pursued and treated like princesses…it really depends on the type of girl you’re into. The high maintenance ones are usually the princess-wannabe types…and they’re just bad news.

    • Reuben says:

      Yes, that paragraph is kind of a less-vehement rehash of an ealier post. Probably the difference between the two that’s less than evident anywhere but in my mind is the cause and strength of this conviction. I think really this is just the product of a pretty stark disillusionment on my part, one I’m getting used to, but still disappointed by. I held women to a pretty high standard for some time, and I’m realizing my standard was only rarely based on reality, and more often based on the image women tend to create.
      There really are some educational topics that are seriously lacking in highschool, conversation being one of them. Also, “Why Debt Is Bad”, “Eating Right and Exercising: The diet that works”, “Music Appreciation (or Why MTV knows crap about real music)”, and very importantly, “How To Please Your Partner Safely and Satisfyingly.”
      I’m not so convinced on the princess complex. I’ve known self-proclaimed “low-maintenance, non-girly” women who kept ending up with assholes because they were looking for a prince charming who would dote on them. They don’t have to wear the tiara to want the dream castle.

      • Ah, but if a woman’s actually going around saying she’s “low maintenance”, then chances are she’s been accused of being high maintenance at some point in her life and she thinks that if she goes around saying the opposite often enough, then she might actually get some sad sack to eventually believe her.
        Yeah, they should definitely have a class on why debt’s bad. It blows my mind how some of my friends are so unbelievably bad at managing money. A follow-up class to that should be “Don’t Buy Shit You Don’t Need” and the textbook should be called, “You Can’t Take It With You When You Die.”

      • muffster says:

        some of them just wear ther tiaras in the dark 😉 and when no one is looking.
        me i am a mayter type… I do everything that no one asked me to do and can’t figure out why i am too tierd to move and too pissed off to have sex. (although i think i am better now than when i was married)
        every single person on the face of the planet is a pain in the ass. it is a matter of finding the kind of pain in the ass that chaps you the least. along with interesting qualities that you admire and IMHO someone you never run out of things to talk about with.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Started reading this and had this sense of deja vu. Didn’t you already write about this? The whole “shittiness, thy name is woman” theme?

    Oh well. The key thing I wanted to zero in on was when you wrote, “So many people out there are thoroughly uninteresting or incapable of carrying on a conversation.”

    Yeah, I’ve noticed that, too. It’s like, you’ll ask someone a generic, get-to-know-you question like, “What kind of music do you like?” (and that’s when you know you’re grabbing at straws ’cause that’s a pretty lame question) and the standard response will be, “All kinds”, followed by silence.

    Sometimes, I think they should offer really useful classes in high school — something like, “The Art of Conversation” so that people will finally learn how to talk to others properly.

    As for women wanting to be pursued and treated like princesses…it really depends on the type of girl you’re into. The high maintenance ones are usually the princess-wannabe types…and they’re just bad news.

    • Anonymous says:

      Yes, that paragraph is kind of a less-vehement rehash of an ealier post. Probably the difference between the two that’s less than evident anywhere but in my mind is the cause and strength of this conviction. I think really this is just the product of a pretty stark disillusionment on my part, one I’m getting used to, but still disappointed by. I held women to a pretty high standard for some time, and I’m realizing my standard was only rarely based on reality, and more often based on the image women tend to create.

      There really are some educational topics that are seriously lacking in highschool, conversation being one of them. Also, “Why Debt Is Bad”, “Eating Right and Exercising: The diet that works”, “Music Appreciation (or Why MTV knows crap about real music)”, and very importantly, “How To Please Your Partner Safely and Satisfyingly.”

      I’m not so convinced on the princess complex. I’ve known self-proclaimed “low-maintenance, non-girly” women who kept ending up with assholes because they were looking for a prince charming who would dote on them. They don’t have to wear the tiara to want the dream castle.

      • Anonymous says:

        Ah, but if a woman’s actually going around saying she’s “low maintenance”, then chances are she’s been accused of being high maintenance at some point in her life and she thinks that if she goes around saying the opposite often enough, then she might actually get some sad sack to eventually believe her.

        Yeah, they should definitely have a class on why debt’s bad. It blows my mind how some of my friends are so unbelievably bad at managing money. A follow-up class to that should be “Don’t Buy Shit You Don’t Need” and the textbook should be called, “You Can’t Take It With You When You Die.”

      • Anonymous says:

        some of them just wear ther tiaras in the dark 😉 and when no one is looking.

        me i am a mayter type… I do everything that no one asked me to do and can’t figure out why i am too tierd to move and too pissed off to have sex. (although i think i am better now than when i was married)

        every single person on the face of the planet is a pain in the ass. it is a matter of finding the kind of pain in the ass that chaps you the least. along with interesting qualities that you admire and IMHO someone you never run out of things to talk about with.

  7. a_wags says:

    jesus,, it took you that long? I thought my two weeks of food posioning sucked.
    you need to split the gas and offer to drive.
    amen. I couldn’t agree more.

  8. Anonymous says:

    jesus,, it took you that long? I thought my two weeks of food posioning sucked.

    you need to split the gas and offer to drive.
    amen. I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

