Posted: August 11, 2005 in Uncategorized

Climbing last night was great, but not because I climbed really well (though I did get to place one of my new hexes, which rocks). My first climb of the night was puting up Fat Crack, and just as I’m topping out, I look up and right in my face is a Trango cam wedged in the crack. Now, I say wedged, but this thing was pretty firmly immobile, with one of the lobes wedged tip to head, and the rest just completely cammed over. I’ve never seen someone leave behind a cam as lost before, and looking even closer, they practically broke it trying to get it back out. Determined to claim my first ever piece of booty, and a cam on top of that, I broke out my #8 Metolius, weighted it, and after some work slid the thing free. I didn’t expect the thing to be usable anyway, but it was seriously mangled. I’ve never seen a cam so screwed up. But I got it free, and threw it in my pack at least as a trophy.

A little while later, two guys show up, one of which I’ve seen out there before, both searching the top of the crag. Sure enough, they’re looking for a lost piece. I pull it out of my bag and hand it over, content I’ve saved them some work. They split, grateful, then 10 minutes later show back up and drop a bag at the base of the climb I’m on with a sixer of Black Butte.

As muffster put it later, it was a perfect example of good climber etiquette all around. One more reason I love the sport.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    Me too. šŸ™‚ I like the respect and brotherhood shared between climbers.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Me too. šŸ™‚ I like the respect and brotherhood shared between climbers.

  3. aardammit says:

    As opposed to rugby, where we meticulously devise schemes to steal all sorts of opposing teams’ stuff.

    • muffster says:

      you don’t steel from your team though… just other teams? right?
      there is this story about a professional climber that went to index to claim a route that had not gone clean yet. it was and still is a primo line and there were alot of local climbers going after the first accent. The locals were so pissed that the pro showed up to claim this route that they dumped axle grease down the climb and hung a dead pigs head from the top.
      so realy it depends šŸ˜‰

  4. Anonymous says:

    As opposed to rugby, where we meticulously devise schemes to steal all sorts of opposing teams’ stuff.

    • Anonymous says:

      you don’t steel from your team though… just other teams? right?

      there is this story about a professional climber that went to index to claim a route that had not gone clean yet. it was and still is a primo line and there were alot of local climbers going after the first accent. The locals were so pissed that the pro showed up to claim this route that they dumped axle grease down the climb and hung a dead pigs head from the top.

      so realy it depends šŸ˜‰

  5. a_wags says:

    random thought…
    i havent had anything stolen climbing before, and I always figured it was just luck..

    • Reuben says:

      Re: random thought…
      Well, luck does play a part, because where people hang out with unattended expensive gear, so too will the people who want to steal it just for the cash. But from a climber-to-climber standpoint, I would be shocked if one climber flat-out stole another’s gear.

  6. Anonymous says:

    random thought…

    i havent had anything stolen climbing before, and I always figured it was just luck..

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: random thought…

      Well, luck does play a part, because where people hang out with unattended expensive gear, so too will the people who want to steal it just for the cash. But from a climber-to-climber standpoint, I would be shocked if one climber flat-out stole another’s gear.

Leave a Reply

