Posted: July 23, 2005 in Uncategorized


I’m going to skip ahead a moment in my journal of my trip, which is taking forever to get through, to something that keeps coming back to me in unexpected ways.

Near the apex of my route north into Montana, I stopped off at Little Bighorn, which has been saturated into the American lexicon so thoroughly, it really loses its meaning to say it. I wandered a bit through the two monuments; the original Custer monument, and the more recent monument to the native Americans that fell that same day. I listened to a Texas history professor volunteering for the summer recount the events that happened nearly where he stood in future and present tense with the energy of a drama coach. I felt invisible among the tourists milling around, looking but not seeing, almost resentful of their blank stares at informational plaques and headstones.

Over the rest of my trip, I really took in too much to process it more than when I stood on that hill and looked down at the valley where the tribes had been quietly camped. But now, I’m haunted by history. TNT has been playing a series called Into The West since my birthday, and so many of the scenes of fighting between US Calvary and the tribes that play out on the TV are in places I stood or drove through just weeks ago. I keep going back in my mind to the Sundance ceremony my friend Peyton described so passionately that he has attended for the past several years. I feel I came so much closer to my heritage than I ever have before, but it’s still disconnected, incomplete.

I finished one journey, but I get the feeling I need to make another, and I don’t know where.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    if you don’t find the journy it will surely find you. walk your path or be dragged. Perhaps you will get some more clarity when you go back to Montana.

  2. Anonymous says:

    if you don’t find the journy it will surely find you. walk your path or be dragged. Perhaps you will get some more clarity when you go back to Montana.

  3. muffster says:

    that was me, sorry i forgot to log in *blushing*

  4. Anonymous says:

    that was me, sorry i forgot to log in *blushing*

  5. aardammit says:

    Little Big Horn was a bit much to take in when I went also… it’s quite a haunting place.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Little Big Horn was a bit much to take in when I went also… it’s quite a haunting place.

Leave a Reply

