Something is missing

Posted: June 13, 2005 in Uncategorized

The past week has been fairly non-stop, and plenty entertaining, but I still feel like I’m missing something. Perhaps the thing that I have been missing is time to myself.

My mom arrived in town on Tuesday, and we’ve been spending the past week doing the usual “I haven’t been here in a year” things. Friday and Saturday was a trip to PDX, but with the Rose Festival taking over the town like some comic book creeping vine, we opted to bug out early on Saturday or risk being stuck there until 5. Saturday night was a slightly belated birthday celebration on the town, during which I didn’t pay for a single drink, yet came away more drunk than I think I may have ever been before in my life. Sadly, this resulted in a perfectly good Sunday being squandered in bed, nursing what felt like the first plague of the apocolypse in my head and stomach.

I’m planning a quasi-epic road trip to Colorado starting next week. This will be by far the furthest I’ve ever driven, and the territory I’ll be crossing is a big question mark. However, the sad thing is, my biggest trepidation from the trip isn’t fear of the unknown, but fear of things falling apart at work while I’m gone.

Overall, I should be happy about the weekend and excited about the upcoming road trip, but right now, I’m just tired. I’m tired of trying to be a good guy and told I’m not, I’m tired of trying to second-guess people’s intentions or opinions and trying to change them, I’m tired of playing mediator between conflicting personalities, I’m tired of trying to do everything at once.

Maybe this road trip is precisely what I need right now.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    sure sounds like it 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    sure sounds like it 🙂

  3. a_wags says:

    can i put in gear request if you stop by that store in CO?

  4. Anonymous says:

    can i put in gear request if you stop by that store in CO?

  5. aardammit says:

    I wish I had a camera for the many faces of passed-out that I got to see at your house.
    Glad you’re feeling better!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I wish I had a camera for the many faces of passed-out that I got to see at your house.

    Glad you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

