Posted: June 3, 2005 in Uncategorized

I’m tired and slightly dehydrated, I’m practically deaf in my left ear, and my voice is gravelly from yelling. Sounds like someone must have gotten rocked hard and put away wet.

The PUSA show was kickass last night. The opening bands were good and better, with some generic punk band opening with a diminutive lead singer that sounded like he was on a permanent helium feed. The second and final opener was Portland’s Villiage Green, who had a great sound, and did an awesome rendition of The Beatles “Tax Man”.

This was my first time seeing PUSA in person, and I must say, they put on one of the best shows I’ve ever been to. They did stuff off their new album, but they covered all the necessities: Peaches, Lump, Tiki God, Kitty, etc. They even did a cover set where they rocked some classics including I Wanna Be Sedated, Video Killed The Radio Star, and being in Eugene, gave a nod to Animal House with Shout, complete with audience participation. How they got a room packed to the gills and crammed together to al crouch low to the ground I still don’t know.

The only downside to the night was the pack of overly-ambitious teens in the middle of the floor who were determined to mosh, no matter what was playing. They really didn’t need a concert, they just needed a room to thrash around in for a while, and I had to restrain myself from throwing out a hard elbow anytime one lunged into me or a crowd surfer nearly kicked me in the head.

Well, that and the fact that I forgot my camera. There were some shots that I would kill to have, including the second guitarist playing over the crowd, with a dozen hands reached up and surrounding the guitar.

Must do that again soon.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    Ya it RAWKED so hard 😀 thank you again for taking me with you!!!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Ya it RAWKED so hard 😀 thank you again for taking me with you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

