Mixed bag

Posted: March 27, 2005 in Uncategorized

This weekend has been a mix of ups and downs. Thursday was the release and subsequent purchase of my new PSP. Got to spend a great evening Friday with a friend I haven’t seen, let alone hung out with, in a long time. Spent too much money on both and realized the next few weeks are going to be pretty lean. And was extremely lazy for two days straight.

The PSP is a hell of a thing. To use a term coined Friday, it’s a technosexual’s dream. Small, shiny, awesome video quality, and packed with a plethora of technogadgetry. I’m somewhat at risk of becoming a fanboy over this thing.

Friday brought one thing in particular into clarity for me: my best nights out have almost never been about the venue or the music, and more about the people I’m with. Good conversation can really nullify wherever you are.

My finances are something of a question mark lately. Now that I have a “financial plan”, I’m realizing how much I was relying on my stock sales for day-to-day extra cash, and really how much of my paychecks are tied up in basic needs. I hate having to strictly curb my spending on mundane things like eating out once in a great while. I think I particularly hate it because I used to feel like I was financially past that point. I feel like I’m getting left behind in my financial development, and I’m pondering doing some consulting on the side for a bit of extra cash. I’m really not fond of it since it blurs the line between work and personal life, but it seems like my best option. Ultimately I’d rather just find a higher-paying job, but so far none of my applications are biting.

I also feel llike I really need to buy a house, but I fear I’m something of a housing snob. I simply can’t find anything in this town in my price range that I like. Either the house is ugly or I simply don’t want to be in the neighborhood.

Such are the musings of someone fast approaching 30.

Comments
  1. a_wags says:

    Im in the same boat as you. I feel like I need a house, and I feel like I shouldnt have to worry about money and I have lots of should and feels.
    Im trying to be happy with where Im at, but its easier said then done

  2. Anonymous says:

    Im in the same boat as you. I feel like I need a house, and I feel like I shouldnt have to worry about money and I have lots of should and feels.

    Im trying to be happy with where Im at, but its easier said then done

  3. snoboy says:

    To both you and addie – be patient, and you will find the house that you need/want. It took us 3 years, but we are glad we did not jump on something that was wrong (ie too expensive, ugly, just not right…)
    Oh, yeah, 30 rocks! 😀

  4. Anonymous says:

    To both you and addie – be patient, and you will find the house that you need/want. It took us 3 years, but we are glad we did not jump on something that was wrong (ie too expensive, ugly, just not right…)

    Oh, yeah, 30 rocks! 😀

Leave a Reply

