Posted: March 22, 2005 in Uncategorized

Today, someone died at their desk and no-one noticed.

This is no metaphor. This is not an analogy of the spiritless machine of corporate America. A person in my office, someone I saw on a daily basis, passed quietly in his chair, to be discovered a short time later by his neighbor. His phone was still at the ready, though the person he had just spoken with had gone on with their day, completely unaware that they were the last person he would ever talk to.

Yet I find the whole thing strangely uneffecting. I have no qualms about mortality, and I feel I have done my time justice. I feel I should be reflecting on this man and his passing, but I simply can’t find anything to dwell on. I made small talk with people I passed in the halls, feigning surprise and sadness because it feels like I should. But ultimately, I feel no connection, and change the channel in my head.

Perhaps it’s me, or perhaps I this is about the machine after all. Perhaps I have been trained well to simply turn away, deadened to anything that I’m not manipulated into feeling.

All I know is, if I die sitting at a desk job, I’m gonna be really pissed.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    “All I know is, if I die sitting at a desk job, I’m gonna be really pissed.”
    I think most people belive you are only effected by that wich you cry over. or that you must mourn someones passing. I think that should be left to those that loved him best. I think you have payed tribute in your way be being EFFECTED, and that quote is the proof that you have been effected. That is his legecy and lesson to you.
    live your life in a way that assures you do not pass from this life sitting at a desk. start now.

    • Reuben says:

      Except I already knew I’d be pissed if I died at a desk. And it’s not even that it seems like I should be mourning him, more like it should have left any kind of impression at all. My lack of concern is far more noticable than his actual passing.

  2. Anonymous says:

    “All I know is, if I die sitting at a desk job, I’m gonna be really pissed.”

    I think most people belive you are only effected by that wich you cry over. or that you must mourn someones passing. I think that should be left to those that loved him best. I think you have payed tribute in your way be being EFFECTED, and that quote is the proof that you have been effected. That is his legecy and lesson to you.

    live your life in a way that assures you do not pass from this life sitting at a desk. start now.

    • Anonymous says:

      Except I already knew I’d be pissed if I died at a desk. And it’s not even that it seems like I should be mourning him, more like it should have left any kind of impression at all. My lack of concern is far more noticable than his actual passing.

      • Anonymous says:

        well then it is a realy good reminder 😉 i bet you don’t forget that this happend. maybe you will…. but i wont.

Leave a Reply

