Gadget Waffling: What keeps geeks awake at night

Posted: March 17, 2005 in Uncategorized

Hi, my name is Reuben, and I don’t own an iPod.

Yes, despite all the peer pressure, all the press, all my gadget-freak instincts, I have withstood the urge. Not that I wouldn’t use it, just that I don’t need another electronic brick to add to my already laden pockets. Call me un-hip, call me less than a geek, but I just can’t do it.

Mind you, the allure of the Apple line of iHardware is quite strong, even for the die-hard PC geek. Whether it be expensively heavy or super light, Apple has a knack for making things that are simple yet still have that super-futuristic, alien technology geek appeal. I have stood at the abyss many a time, as with any sleek, ubercool gadget, mentally pacing over a tiny brick of metal and plastic. But not this time. For now, I’ll stick with my uncool 128MB MP3 player, content in the knowledge that I’m not jumping on something just because it’s shiny.

But when the PSP comes out next week, man, I’m gonna be first in line. That thing is so freakin cool.

Comments
  1. vanz says:

    I was totally the same way. If it wasn’t for the fact that I won my iPod Mini, I probably could have withstood the pressure.
    So I started using it. (Hell… it was free, why not?). 4GB is a healthy amount of music storage space.
    I liked it. It was ok. The dial thingy was easy enough to use. It satisfied my geek needs for about a month until I decided the earphones gave me headaches and made me feel as if I was undergoing an ear canal expansion procedure.
    Then I bought some Shure earphones (the EC3’s): http://www.shure.com/psm/earphones/default.asp#e3
    Wow!
    Yeah, they’re a bit on the spendy side. But those little suckers might even make David Hasselhoff’s “Hooked On A Feeling” sound good…. yes, they’re THAT good!
    Bottom line (IMHO), get whatever MP3 player you happen to geek out on. Hell, try the new iPod Shuffle if you want… but get some good earphones. It makes all the difference.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I was totally the same way. If it wasn’t for the fact that I won my iPod Mini, I probably could have withstood the pressure.

    So I started using it. (Hell… it was free, why not?). 4GB is a healthy amount of music storage space.

    I liked it. It was ok. The dial thingy was easy enough to use. It satisfied my geek needs for about a month until I decided the earphones gave me headaches and made me feel as if I was undergoing an ear canal expansion procedure.

    Then I bought some Shure earphones (the EC3’s): http://www.shure.com/psm/earphones/default.asp#e3

    Wow!

    Yeah, they’re a bit on the spendy side. But those little suckers might even make David Hasselhoff’s “Hooked On A Feeling” sound good…. yes, they’re THAT good!

    Bottom line (IMHO), get whatever MP3 player you happen to geek out on. Hell, try the new iPod Shuffle if you want… but get some good earphones. It makes all the difference.

Leave a Reply

