Posted: February 25, 2005 in Uncategorized

I’m becoming something of a germophobe at work lately. So far I’ve gone this winter without getting sick once, which is kinda rare for me, and I’m getting nervous that I’m pushing my odds.

Working in an office in this town is the health equivalent of working at a daycare center. And this is no coincidence. Being a 100% suburban town, the majority of people in the office have kids, and kids being the walking chemical weapons factories that they are, co-workers naturally bring in their kids’ germs to share with the rest of us. And the remainder of the office being the single geeks that WE are, immune systems fueled by a daily pizza-and-soda diet and supported by a mouse-movement exercise regiment stand little chance against this homebrewed onslaught.

Add to this the fact that my job requires that I not only go around to people’s cubes and touch their stuff, but have them come find me and cough and sniffle at me while asking questions, and I’ve gotten downright paranoid.

So, if I start asking for empty tissue boxes, dust masks, and laytex gloves, don’t worry. I’m just getting ready for work.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    LOL
    too true. i hate the germs :<

  2. Anonymous says:

    LOL
    too true. i hate the germs :<

  3. rrredhead says:

    I’ll bring you some man-sized tissues from Ireland to help you out!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’ll bring you some man-sized tissues from Ireland to help you out!

Leave a Reply

