Posted: February 11, 2005 in Uncategorized

I have felt thoroughly ineffective at work this week. I can’t tell if it’s because I’m feeling unmotivated, or if I’ve been TOO motivated lately, and I’m getting burned out. I’ve spent a lot of time lately banging my head against problems, and I thrived on it, but I think I’ve hit my point where it’s just gotten old banging up against something that’s just making no sense to me. And if there’s one thing I’ve always had a phobia of, it’s feeling like a moron.

My parents will attest, I’ve had this from day 1. When they were teaching me to read, I refused to try reading for them. They simply couldn’t understand why I wouldn’t even try. Then, one night, they caught me in bed, under the covers with a flashlight, practicing on my own with a reader set. I’d apparently been doing this for a while, because I was getting pretty good. So, even now, whenever I hit a point that I feel like I should be getting, or worse yet others around me are getting, I get that feeling of wanting to just clam up and not even try.

I’ve also felt unmotivated to do things out on the floor, but I think that’s just because those tasks suck. For someone who typically does 4-5 things simultaneously at his desk, sitting around waiting for a computer to reboot at someone else’s desk is excruciating.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    i think you might be being a bit hard on yourself. you were very productive earlier this week :p

  2. Anonymous says:

    i think you might be being a bit hard on yourself. you were very productive earlier this week :p

Leave a Reply

