New Years, Hawaiian style

Posted: January 4, 2005 in Uncategorized

Being in Hawaii for New Years has its definite advantages. My personal favorite is the fact that I’ve worn nothing but a pair of shorts and a t-shirt the entire time I’ve been here, and shoes only some of the time, despite it being the dead of winter. On the downside, it does make sitting still long enough to write something down next to impossible, when you know that there’s a perfectly nice patch of beach nearby that has nobody to sit on it.

We can’t disappoint the beaches, now can we.

This has been my best trip back home in a while. Playing tour guide with made the trip really enjoyable, getting to live vicariously through someone who’s never been here before, and even doing some things I’d passed countless times and never stopped to do or see. I also realized I know far more about Hawaii than I’d thought I did, particularly when it comes to pronouncing things like Pu’uhonua O Honaunau and knowing which volcano has the observatories and which would be bad for observatories, what with all the lava spewing out of it and all.

New Years Eve was rather forgettable, but really that could’ve simply be because it was overshadowed by so many other things that champagne and silly hats really can’t hold a candle to. We made a brief appearance at a local haole gathering, which was for haoles to this town what a Greatful Dead concert would be for hippies in Houston. But ultimately, we rang in the new year by resting up for the next day’s activities.

I put Shel on the plane last night, but I still have 4 more days to kill, so to keep myself occupied, I think I’ll dedicate it to keeping the beach company. Would that she could be here to help, but I’ll manage.

Comments
  1. a_wags says:

    stupid me I totally forgot you lived htere

  2. Anonymous says:

    stupid me I totally forgot you lived htere

  3. rhinoblues says:

    yeah rough life…:p
    it might snow here after thursday (through sunday)

  4. Anonymous says:

    yeah rough life…:p

    it might snow here after thursday (through sunday)

  5. muffster says:

    send my love to the beach and wish i could be there too. πŸ™‚

  6. Anonymous says:

    send my love to the beach and wish i could be there too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

