Posted: November 23, 2004 in Uncategorized

Being productive and being successful do not always go hand in hand. Or at least not successful in the way you’d planned. Perhaps the very concept of being productive is to gain ground without actually succeeding at your original goal.

This weekend was by that definition a productive one. Not to say that I didn’t go climbing at Smith; I did indeed climb, including Phone Call From Satan, a 5.9 I’ve been trying to get on for a while now, but didn’t want to wait in line. So while I did climb, I did not climb well, or as much as I had intended. I couldn’t even say why, really. I could blame my shoes, which are now a size and a half too big, have a hole in the toe, and are desperately in need of replacement. Or I could blame the cold, since temperatures got as low as the teens at night. But really, I simply wasn’t all there. It was a half-hearted finish to the season, and to my first year of climbing.

But during this disjointed weekend, I also regained my purpose. As Shel and I were leaving on Sunday, feeling somewhat dejected by our easy defeat, we stopped and watched as two climbers made their way so smoothly up a 4-pitch route so difficult, it looked like art. And sitting on our boulder, watching them work out the route and swap leads at the belay ledges, the final piece of what I’d forgotten came back, along with a newfound resolve.

Over the past year, I’ve learned to climb as much as a 5.10b, lead sport, and started on gear placement. When spring rolls around, and the season starts again, it’ll be time to begin pushing my limits. Time to start climbing multi-pitch, and to focus on redpointing every 5.10 I can.

The weekend was a good one. Breakfast at the SunSpot, movies in Redmond and in the back of the car, and overall immaculate weather. But more than that, it was the perfect motivation to start another year.

photomotivation

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    yep 🙂 the best ending is when you find where you want to begin again.

  2. Anonymous says:

    yep 🙂 the best ending is when you find where you want to begin again.

Leave a Reply

