Posted: October 13, 2004 in Uncategorized

Another outstanding weekend at Smith has come and gone. Climbing by day, all day, drinking by night, all night (nearly). The gracious owner of Terminal Gravity brewery graced us with 3 kegs of his finest, including a triplebach that knocked everyone on their ass (I never found the right keg unfortunately). Shel even whipped up a KILLER stew on Saturday night that definitely hit the spot. And apart from some rain when we arrived on Friday, the weather was spectacular, even to the point of getting a bit of a sunburn on Sunday.

The highlight of the weekend was by far my first fall on lead. While leading Light on the Path (10a), I lost my balance and popped off, dropping about 12 feet. What amazed me was how little it effected me. I just fell, and the adrenalin rush I’d expected never came. But that one fall has completely changed my approach to leading. I’m now ready to push, to step up and get better without worrying about coming off. It was a pivotal moment.

Routes done over the weekend:

Saturday (toproped in the gorge)
Prom Night (5.7)
Rage (5.7)
Little Black Sambo (5.9 X)
Homecoming Queen (5.7)

Sunday (main area)
Warrior (5.7)
Light On The Path (5.10a)
Zebra Direct (5.11a) – This one was actually set up by Karsten the badass, and the rest of us projected it.

weekend beta

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    I have to say after you fall, I think i am ready to try and lead more as well. Sport anyway. it was a realy gret weekend. I want to lead light on the path. you, raluca, and fern inspired me:tup: I soooooo want to climb MORE!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have to say after you fall, I think i am ready to try and lead more as well. Sport anyway. it was a realy gret weekend. I want to lead light on the path. you, raluca, and fern inspired me:tup: I soooooo want to climb MORE!!

  3. a_wags says:

    AWESOME I MISS YOU GUYS!

  4. Anonymous says:

    AWESOME I MISS YOU GUYS!

Leave a Reply

