On the subject of parental gifting

Posted: September 19, 2004 in Uncategorized

I must admit to feeling conflicted about getting all kinds of things when my parents are in town, because I have to keep myself in check from using that generosity. While I’m certainly glad my mom buys me all kinds of stuff when she’s around, I want to make sure I’m a) not taking this generosity for granted, and b) not getting comfortable with it, because the independant side of me screams at me that I need to keep my feet. I’ve always prided myself in my self-reliance, but getting something for nothing feels AWFULLY good. I’ve been holding onto my stock options and ESPP shares for the past 9 months or so to achieve a specific goal, so I’ve had to be more careful with my spending. When these shopping sprees come around, I have to be careful to not get caught up in them and not feel too frustrated about the things that I want but can’t get.

When it comes down to it, I have a lot, and I just have to remember that. There’s lots for me to want that is out of my reach, but very little for me to need that I don’t already have. And wanting is in fact a good thing.

Comments
  1. muffster says:

    to want is to strive. the more you want something or someone or a situation the harder you are willing to work for it.
    to give and to be given to are wonderful things. there is a line, and i believe you don’t want to let people do too much for you. but you are a wonderfuly generous person. to accpet gifts form people who want to give to you is a good thing. just like you like how it feels when you give to the special people in your life.
    being a person that you give to often and without a second thought, and being in a place in my life where i cannot often give you things back, I am glad to see that you get too. we all need presents sometimes. :-X

  2. Anonymous says:

    to want is to strive. the more you want something or someone or a situation the harder you are willing to work for it.

    to give and to be given to are wonderful things. there is a line, and i believe you don’t want to let people do too much for you. but you are a wonderfuly generous person. to accpet gifts form people who want to give to you is a good thing. just like you like how it feels when you give to the special people in your life.

    being a person that you give to often and without a second thought, and being in a place in my life where i cannot often give you things back, I am glad to see that you get too. we all need presents sometimes. :-X

Leave a Reply

