Posted: September 13, 2004 in Uncategorized

Fall Smith season has begun with a solid start. Two full days, two new friends, and refreshing on some climbs from the end of spring. I have a renewed sense of purpose to my climbing.

Smith Rock has a unique property for me, in that I never come away from a weekend there without learning something about myself or having a clear idea of something I need to work on, or both. I never fail to progress in the span of just two days.

This weekend was no different.

Among other lesser things, one thing I learned was that I can have a strong, unhesitating confidence in myself, one that I can stake everything on. On the backside on Saturday, we approached a 5.8 that started out with the first bolt some 40′ off the deck above an unbolted crack. I had climbed this once before, and knew I could do the crack solid, but I had no gear to protect my climb. But I did it anyway. Not because I refused to not do the route, but because I knew I could do it, and I was willing to put my trust in myself to that test. I doubt I would do it on that climb again, but this time, I looked at the first bolt so far above my head and thought to myself, “Without trusting yourself, you won’t get any better. So do it.” And without so much as a pause, I did.

Also put to the test this weekend was a new sleeping configuration in the back of my Rodeo and taking along a laptop for movies at night. Both fully lived up to expectations.

The season is brief, but I expect great things from it this year.

proof

Comments
  1. Lookin’ good! 🙂
    And congrats on pushing through and trusting yourself, R… sometimes (if not always), that’s the biggest test there is.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Lookin’ good! 🙂

    And congrats on pushing through and trusting yourself, R… sometimes (if not always), that’s the biggest test there is.

  3. a_wags says:

    MAHHHHH (cries) that picture makes me want to get in my car and drive up to bend… how I miss those days at smith

  4. Anonymous says:

    MAHHHHH (cries) that picture makes me want to get in my car and drive up to bend… how I miss those days at smith

Leave a Reply

