Posted: August 5, 2004 in Uncategorized

Okay, so it’s Thursday, and I’m only now getting to last weekend. Sue me.

On second thought, someone just might, so I should throw in a legal disclaimer:

Content copyright me, 2004. Illegal reproduction and reselling of any of the following content is pretty much unavoidable, since this is the internet, but I won’t like you very much. I make no warranty, express or implied concerning me, this journal, software or products or services available through the site, which are provided “as is”. I expressly disclaim all warranties, including but not limited to warranties of fitness for a particular purpose and warranties of making any sense whatsoever. In no event will I, my affiliates or other people who happen to be passing by right now be liable for direct, special, incidental, or consequential damages (including, without limitation, damages for loss of business profits, business interruption, mental stress, lack of sobriety, infertility, alien abduction, or failure to yield in a passing lane) arising directly or indirectly from the use of (or failure to use) or reliance on the information in this journal, even if I have been advised of the possibility that such damages may arise, because really I’m just some guy with a blog for christs sake. I do not guarantee the accuracy, content, or timeliness of the content herein or that it is year 2000 compliant or free from viruses or other contaminating or destructive properties, so just quit your whining take some damned responsability for your own actions for a change. Ya big baby.

Saturday was slow to start, as always, but that generally means sleeping in, which I will never, ever complain about. Unless I was supposed to catch a plane at 6AM. After lunch at Cafe Yumm at 5th Street, Shel and I headed to the coast, and some frisbee and napping on the beach at the Hobbit Trails. After some icecream and saltwater taffy, we headed back into town to catch the end of the Obon Festival in the park, hosted by the Eugene taiko group, which was pretty cool. I’ve seen them before, and they’ve always impressed me as a group. I’m actually rather tempted to volunteer for the Asian Festival in February, since they said that they were short on people last year, and they do such a good job with it.

Sunday Shel and I spent out climbing at Flagstone with Karsten and Reluka (sp?). I’m finding Flagstone to be a great addition to our climbing, because it’s a completely different type of climbing than Columns or Smith. It’s very much slab climbing, which forces me to have good footwork, something I’ve found makes all the difference when you have it. Shel and I also toproped Harp Of Stone, a 5.10c/d, which I came off of at the crux but made it up. Shel contends I could lead it, and I’m inclined to agree with her.

Excellent food was the capper for the weekend. Dinner Sunday was takeout from Tasty Thai, which did not fail its namesake. And Shel made a blackberry pie out of blackberries picked from the bush in my back yard, which when combined with vanilla ice cream, forms a substance too delicious to describe.

So much crammed into one weekend, with so little effort.

Leave a Reply

