Posted: July 19, 2004 in Uncategorized

A relaxing, but full, weekend.

Friday was a leisurely bike ride with Shel along the Willamette on her new bike. Hadn’t biked through town in god knows how long… It was fun to do it again, though I felt much more uneasy than I used to about traffic. I’ll take bombing down a root-infested trail over riding down a busy street anyday.

Followed that up with us going to see my buddy Phil’s band play at Downtown Lounge, along with some drinks and pool. Again, something I hadn’t done in ages. The club downstairs really no longer holds any appeal for me; the people are hideous, and the music anymore is even worse. It’s sad, since I can remember when that place would be so packed, you had to go up for air.

Saturday was much needed SLEEP, along with Shel’s first trail ride, which she did awesome on, especially for being on a rigid frame bike with a front brake in need of tightening. Polished the day off with some killer BBQ’d steak and veggies.

And yesterday was my first time to Flagstone, a climbing area about 50 miles outside Springfield. Gotta say, the area is a bit small, but it has some really nice climbing. My favorite of the day: Hydrotube, a 5.8+ valley in the rock that was worn out by water runoff. Really looking forward to going again and trying some of the 5.10s.

Hoo! K, time to get to work. Bleh.

Comments
  1. a_wags says:

    that area does look pretty cool, were there lots of 5.9-10s?

    • Reuben says:

      It’s actually mostly 10s and above (I picked up the guidebook when I bought my draws), with some mixed 5.7-9. Very slabby faceclimbing; I found myself stemming and frictioning a lot. Some multipitch stuff, but lots of the routes are pretty long, so a 60m rope is bare MINIMUM.

  2. Anonymous says:

    that area does look pretty cool, were there lots of 5.9-10s?

    • Anonymous says:

      It’s actually mostly 10s and above (I picked up the guidebook when I bought my draws), with some mixed 5.7-9. Very slabby faceclimbing; I found myself stemming and frictioning a lot. Some multipitch stuff, but lots of the routes are pretty long, so a 60m rope is bare MINIMUM.

Leave a Reply

