Posted: June 10, 2004 in Uncategorized

Something just occurred to me. I generally keep the fact that it’s my birthday to myself as much as possible these days, especially at work. Every now and again people find out it’s my birthday and make a deal out of it and such, and I just play it off and change the subject. I’ve never really figured out why I do this. But I realized, I’m uncomfortable with being the center of attention when the focus is me, rather than something I’m saying or doing. I’m uncomfortable with people doing things for me or making everything about me. I just don’t know how to respond, and tend to want to even out the focus.

I’m not sure why this is.

Comments
  1. vanz says:

    You’re not alone. I’m not sure why I do it too. The last few years I’ve just told people to shut up and they seem to think I’m joking. On the surface I am, but underneath I really mean “shut up”. 😉

  2. Anonymous says:

    You’re not alone. I’m not sure why I do it too. The last few years I’ve just told people to shut up and they seem to think I’m joking. On the surface I am, but underneath I really mean “shut up”. 😉

  3. Anonymous says:

    You’re not alone. I’m not sure why I do it too. The last few years I’ve just told people to shut up and they seem to think I’m joking. On the surface I am, but underneath I really mean “shut up”. 😉

  4. misai says:

    Aw, I guess an “i had no idea!” would be pretty pointless.
    I hope you had a wonderful day in any case 🙂

    • Reuben says:

      Heh, but see, that entry is the perfect out for people who didn’t say anything! “Of course I didn’t wish you happy birthday, you don’t like telling anyone!” 😉

  5. Anonymous says:

    Aw, I guess an “i had no idea!” would be pretty pointless.
    I hope you had a wonderful day in any case 🙂

    • Anonymous says:

      Heh, but see, that entry is the perfect out for people who didn’t say anything! “Of course I didn’t wish you happy birthday, you don’t like telling anyone!” 😉

    • Anonymous says:

      Heh, but see, that entry is the perfect out for people who didn’t say anything! “Of course I didn’t wish you happy birthday, you don’t like telling anyone!” 😉

  6. Anonymous says:

    Aw, I guess an “i had no idea!” would be pretty pointless.

    I hope you had a wonderful day in any case 🙂

Leave a Reply

