Sweeeet

Posted: May 28, 2004 in Uncategorized

So, I’ve been using Qwest DSL with the small business package for some 4 years now to do my own hosting. I was only getting 640k down and a measly 256k up, which for hosting is marginal, even for personal use. Plus, I was shelling out an additional $45 a month for the small business package just so I could have static IPs. Lame.

Well, in chatting with some co-workers this morning, I discovered that they had gotten upgraded for free to T1 speeds just by giving a call to Qwest and mentioning changing to Comcast. So, I jumped on the phone to customer service, prepared to battle to the death for my new line speed.

First guy I talked to was helpful, but couldn’t do a thing for me, since I wasn’t an MSN user, I’m still Qwest. So, they start shuttling me up the chain, while with each placement on hold I mentally shored myself up for the verbal haggling I was sure was coming. Finally, after breezing through agent after agent, I reached probably the most knowledgable Qwest person I’ve ever talked to. This guy was to Qwest what Iceman was to the Top Gun program; he knew his shit and knew what I was after. The end result: my current line is running on significantly old technology, so over the next couple weeks, I will be having my line changed over to the newer switch, reconditioned, then my line speed bumped to 1.5m down, 896k up. And the capper: I’ll be dropping the ISP in the process, so my bill will drop about $60 a month.

Hell ya.

The sad thing is, I’m tempted to see what I can do with that $60 to increase my line speed still more (although I think DSL caps out at 1.5mbps).

Comments
  1. mystickaos says:

    …kickass =)
    we have quest dsl 640 down and 256 up… i want what ur getting lol.

  2. Anonymous says:

    …kickass =)
    we have quest dsl 640 down and 256 up… i want what ur getting lol.

  3. Anonymous says:

    …kickass =)
    we have quest dsl 640 down and 256 up… i want what ur getting lol.

Leave a Reply

