Posted: May 28, 2004 in Uncategorized

I came to something of a realization at work yesterday. For some time I’ve been feeling inferior to my counterpart since he gets approached more by management for things. I’d always known this was more due to simple exposure (ie. volume of email), but there was still that nagging doubt. Well, two things pretty effectively did away with that yesterday.

In the past, and more notably recently, some of the things I’ve done have been solely attributed to my counterpart, which was getting me frustrated. But, after discussing a rather glaring example where I sent a reply to an email sent to both of us and he was credited with the response, turns out he gets the same thing, just not as often. Tunnel vision is simply a corporate standard.

Secondly, our supervisor came over to ask us if, in the event we got more switches for the network, I could install them if my counterpart was out. What’s funny here is, I actually singlehandedly purchased, configured, and installed all the network hardware. Not only that, but this action got the only award I’ve ever been granted.

What I’ve come away with from this: technical proficiency means almost nothing in corporations, while the ability to send email can get you promoted.

Every time I think I can’t get more jaded, the monkeys hit “Send” again.

Comments
  1. vanz says:

    Pfft… “inferior” my ass.
    For what it’s worth, your counterpart has always been my second choice when I need to bug your department for assistance or advice.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Pfft… “inferior” my ass.
    For what it’s worth, your counterpart has always been my second choice when I need to bug your department for assistance or advice.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Pfft… “inferior” my ass.

    For what it’s worth, your counterpart has always been my second choice when I need to bug your department for assistance or advice.

Leave a Reply

