Posted: May 13, 2004 in Uncategorized

I’m suddenly faced with a substantial dilemma. I’ve been invited to interview for a sysadmin job for Mt. Bachelor. Like the ski park. I’m going over on Saturday to have a look at the office and check out Bend as a living possibility, since I would have to move there. So, the inevitable list:

Pros:
* Free skiing at Bachelor nearly every damned day
* 20 minutes from climbing at Smith Rock
* From what I understand of the job, it’s a low workload
* Good experience, both professionally and personally
* I like working with small companies
* The guy who I’d be working with is already a friend, and I know we’d work really well together
* Getting my ass out of Eugene
* Less rain during the year

Cons:
* I’d have to move to Bend, which is even SMALLER than Eugene
* Bend is 2 1/2 hours min. from anywhere, while Eugene is at least only 2 hours from Portland
* No Shelly
* No more stock. I could retain my option shares, but no more ESPP
* It’s more a lateral move than moving up. I would be going for the experience, particularly personal experience
* I know a total of 1 person in Bend
* If I had to bail and come back to Symantec, I’d likely be back in phone support

Unknowns:
* Pay and benefits
* Work hours

Comments
  1. Well.. speaking from experience, sometimes the best thing you can do for your job at UncleJohns shack is to leave.
    😉
    Not that I am chassing you off just as I am getting to town but change can be a good thing. Yet, leaving your GF is not something to take lightly.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Well.. speaking from experience, sometimes the best thing you can do for your job at UncleJohns shack is to leave.
    😉
    Not that I am chassing you off just as I am getting to town but change can be a good thing. Yet, leaving your GF is not something to take lightly.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Well.. speaking from experience, sometimes the best thing you can do for your job at UncleJohns shack is to leave.

    😉

    Not that I am chassing you off just as I am getting to town but change can be a good thing. Yet, leaving your GF is not something to take lightly.

Leave a Reply

