Posted: May 4, 2004 in Uncategorized

For I think the first time ever, my current supervisor actually gave me some specific direction for skill advancement. It was nothing new to me, but it was refreshing to actually be, well, supervised for once. I rarely do more than inform her of what’s going on while I do my job; she really doesn’t do much with me other than ask me to do the occasional side project, the rest I pretty much do without her even knowing what I’m working on.

The timing is pretty good, since I’ve been feeling rather lacking on the job market lately. I really would rather not have to go back to school, since all the pre-reqs feel like such a waste of time, but the market is really tight these days, and I haven’t gotten more than an automated “thank you” from the Portland positions I’ve applied to.

I kind of wish undergrad programs worked like certifications. Focus on what you need like coding, business, and maybe some math, and leave out the 7 page papers on why Thoreau was a douchebag. Can we have a Bachelor’s in “I already know what the hell I want” please?

Comments
  1. mystickaos says:

    Can we have a Bachelor’s in “I already know what the hell I want” please?
    hahahaha… =) yes, i think we should start implementing that now.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Can we have a Bachelor’s in “I already know what the hell I want” please?
    hahahaha… =) yes, i think we should start implementing that now.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Can we have a Bachelor’s in “I already know what the hell I want” please?

    hahahaha… =) yes, i think we should start implementing that now.

  4. vanz says:

    “For I think the first time ever, my current supervisor actually gave me some specific direction for skill advancement.”
    She’s like that… I got my first significant raise when I sat down with her and talked about what I did for the company and why I felt under-appreciated. She seems to enjoy it when you can stand up to her, has been my observation. Other than that, I kind of liked her “hands-off/I trust you” approach. It’s like, if she’s not in your face, it means your doing a good job.
    Takes a bit to get used to, though.
    “the rest I pretty much do without her even knowing what I’m working on.”
    That’s the hurdle.. you should tell her. Not write it down, but TELL her. Not every day like a whiny-assed sucker-upper, but rather when you’re ready to make a move and have ammo to prove you’re worth it. At least that worked for me. *shrug*

  5. Anonymous says:

    “For I think the first time ever, my current supervisor actually gave me some specific direction for skill advancement.”
    She’s like that… I got my first significant raise when I sat down with her and talked about what I did for the company and why I felt under-appreciated. She seems to enjoy it when you can stand up to her, has been my observation. Other than that, I kind of liked her “hands-off/I trust you” approach. It’s like, if she’s not in your face, it means your doing a good job.
    Takes a bit to get used to, though.
    “the rest I pretty much do without her even knowing what I’m working on.”
    That’s the hurdle.. you should tell her. Not write it down, but TELL her. Not every day like a whiny-assed sucker-upper, but rather when you’re ready to make a move and have ammo to prove you’re worth it. At least that worked for me. *shrug*

  6. Anonymous says:

    “For I think the first time ever, my current supervisor actually gave me some specific direction for skill advancement.”

    She’s like that… I got my first significant raise when I sat down with her and talked about what I did for the company and why I felt under-appreciated. She seems to enjoy it when you can stand up to her, has been my observation. Other than that, I kind of liked her “hands-off/I trust you” approach. It’s like, if she’s not in your face, it means your doing a good job.

    Takes a bit to get used to, though.

    “the rest I pretty much do without her even knowing what I’m working on.”

    That’s the hurdle.. you should tell her. Not write it down, but TELL her. Not every day like a whiny-assed sucker-upper, but rather when you’re ready to make a move and have ammo to prove you’re worth it. At least that worked for me. *shrug*

Leave a Reply

