Posted: March 9, 2004 in Uncategorized

Had a brief, sobering moment just now. Came out of nowhere really, popping up like an insect moving into the beam of a spotlight. It was prompted by the image of an old man in a book, who had only 4 teeth. Nothing much made of it in the book, just a descriptive characteristic, to build the picture of his age and health.

I’ve thought about growing old more often lately, and how your body declines, despite what you think it should do. And the idea of losing teeth as you get old disturbs me. Not just missing teeth, but that moment you lose one. And then another one. The idea that you are literally losing these fixtures you’ve had since you were a child. One day, you just find it in your apple.

I hope to avoid that. Genetically, I seem to be in good hands.

Comments
  1. I *totally* relate with this. I’ve been thinking more about aging lately, too.
    Is it a 30ish thing?
    I hate the thought of my nose and ears getting huge, like my grandparents’ did.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I *totally* relate with this. I’ve been thinking more about aging lately, too.
    Is it a 30ish thing?
    I hate the thought of my nose and ears getting huge, like my grandparents’ did.

Leave a Reply

